ELECTED: Hastings to NAS; Strauss, Wainwright to AAAS

April 30, 2015

Three UC Davis ecologists are being recognized nationwide: Alan Hastings, newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences; and Sharon Strauss and Peter Wainwright, newly elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The National Academy of Sciences announced its new class today (April 28). Election to the academy is one of the highest science honors in the United States — and UC Davis now counts 27 members.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announcement of Strauss’ and Wainwright’s election came last week, one day after Dateline came out.

Horwitz Donates AAAS Award Proceeds to NPB Undergrad Research

March 03, 2015

Barbara Horwitz has received the Lifetime Mentor Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

She’s a distinguished professor of neurobiology, physiology and behavior in the College of Biological Sciences; former president of the American Physiological Society; as well as former vice provost of Academic Personnel and former interim provost.