National Academy of Sciences

Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.

Because membership is achieved by election, there is no membership application process. Although many names are suggested informally, only Academy members may submit formal nominations. Consideration of a candidate begins with his or her nomination, followed by an extensive and careful vetting process that results in a final ballot at the Academy's annual meeting in April each year.  Currently, a maximum of 84 members may be elected annually. Members must be U.S. citizens; non-citizens are elected as foreign associates, with a maximum of 21 elected annually. 

The NAS membership totals approximately 2,200 members and 400 foreign associates, of whom approximately 200 have received Nobel prizes.

For more information, visit the National Academy of Sciences web site.


Jodi Nunnari, professor (MCB) - 2017

Harris Lewin, Vice Chancellor for Research, professor (EVE) – 2012

Johanna Schmitt, professor (EVE) - 2008

Stephen Kowalczykowski, distinguished professor (MMG) - 2007

The late Roy Doi, distinguished professor emeritus (MCB) – 2006

Deborah Delmer, professor emeritus (PLB) – 2004

The late Edward J. Jones, distinguished professor emeritus/director (Center for Neuroscience) – 2004

J. Clark Lagarias, professor (MCB) – 2001

The late Eric E. Conn, professor emeritus (MCB) – 1988

John Roth, distinguished professor (MMG) – 1988

Thomas W. Schoener, distinguished professor (EVE) – 1984

Melvin M. Green, professor emeritus (MCB) – 1980

Emanuel Q. Epstein, professor emeritus (PLB) – 1978

The late Paul K. Stumpf, professor emeritus (MCB) – 1978

The late G. Ledyard Stebbins, professor emeritus (Genetics) – 1952