Past Awards and Honors

College of Biological Sciences Medal

This distinguished recognition honors the top undergraduate of the college, selected from faculty recommendations.

  • 2019: Wai Lone Jonathan Ho, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2018: Kelsey Klein, Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior
  • 2017: Felicia Peng, Genetics and Genomics
  • 2016: Jessica West, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2015: Rachelle Hamblin, Biological Sciences
  • 2014: Daniel Curiel, Biological Sciences
  • 2013: Daniel Copeland, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2012: Aaron Heuckroth, Microbiology and Classic Civilizations
  • 2011: Julia Victoria Gorgone, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2010: Kate Marie Brown, Biological Sciences
  • 2009: Emily Dubina, Exercise Biology
  • 2008 (inaugural recipient): Matthew Tamplen, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ronald and Lydia Baskin Research Awards

The Ronald and Lydia Baskin Research award recognizes excellence in research in the biological sciences. Students from all UC Davis undergraduate colleges are eligible for the Baskin Research Award. The award is given to 2 graduating seniors, and areas such as biophysics, biochemistry, biomathematics, and bioengineering are specifically included.  

  • 2019: Wai Lone Jonathan Ho, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Caroline Liu, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2018: Benjamin Mallory, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Bita Shahrvini, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2017: Iris Mollhoff, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2016: Roy Qu, Genetics and Genomics
  • 2015: James Lucas, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2014: Spencer Wong, Genetics
  • 2013: Amanda Steele, Biomedical Engineering (College of Engineering)
  • 2012: Becky Xu Hua Fu, Genetics
  • 2011: Amy Tam, Biological Sciences
  • 2010: Wenhui Zhou, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2009: Alexander Muir Sutherland, Chemistry (College of Letters and Science)
  • 2008: Amanda Kohler, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2007 (inaugural recipient): Edgar Ivan Sanchez, Biomedical Engineering (College of Engineering)

Undergraduate Student of the Year

This award is given to a single outstanding graduating senior based on academic excellence, research activity and community involvement.

  • 2019: Caroline Liu, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior; Tara Shahrvini, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2018: Bita Shahrvini, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2017: Niloufar Mohajerani, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2016: Jenice Cheah, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2015: Briga Mullin, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2014: Duy Tran, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2013: Asadullah Awan, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2012: Minh Ngo, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2011 (inaugural recipient): Carly Lewis, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior