Students at tidepool

Undergraduate Awards

College of Biological Sciences Medal

This distinguished recognition honors the top undergraduate of the College, selected from faculty recommendations.

  • 2019: Wai Lone Jonathan Ho, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2018: Kelsey Klein, Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior
  • 2017: Felicia Peng, Genetics and Genomics
  • 2016: Jessica West, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2015: Rachelle Hamblin, Biological Sciences
  • 2014: Daniel Curiel, Biological Sciences
  • 2013: Daniel Copeland, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2012: Aaron Heuckroth, Microbiology and Classic Civilizations
  • 2011: Julia Victoria Gorgone, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2010: Kate Marie Brown, Biological Sciences
  • 2009: Emily Dubina, Exercise Biology
  • 2008 (inaugural recipient): Matthew Tamplen, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Dean's Honor List

According to campus regulations, the quarterly Deans' Honors List includes names of students who have completed, for a letter grade, a minimum of 12 units in a specific quarter with a grade point average equal to or higher than the minimum grade point average attained by the upper 16 percent of those registered in the same class level and college during that quarter.

Departmental Citations

There is no application required for department citations, which are given to graduating seniors in CBS with a UC GPA of 3.7 or higher, and who graduate between summer of the year prior through spring of the current year. (E.g., Summer 2020 - Spring 2021.) 

Distinguished Scholar Awards

This award is also known as the Outstanding Performance Citation and is noted on your final transcript. Given to graduating seniors who have conducted substantial research before graduation and maintained an upper division GPA of at least 3.5.

Phi Sigma Honor Society - Gamma Delta Chapter

The Phi Sigma Biological Sciences Honor Society was founded in 1915 at Ohio State University. With 86 active chapters and a total membership of more than 90,000, it promotes academic scholarship in the Biological Sciences and recognizes students who demonstrate academic excellence and involvement in scholarly research. The Gamma Delta Chapter was established in 1984 by a group of students and faculty members. They wanted to provide recognition to outstanding undergraduate and graduate UC Davis students. Among the founders are Dr. Barbara Horwitz, past vice president, and Dr. John Horowitz, past treasurer.

The criteria for nomination to the Gamma Delta Chapter are greater than most chapters. At UC Davis, a minimum GPA of 3.5 is mandatory for undergraduates. This GPA requirement is significantly higher than the national requirement of 3.0 and is a reflection of the high caliber of students at UC Davis.

Ronald and Lydia Baskin Research Awards

The Ronald and Lydia Baskin Research award recognizes two graduating seniors each year for excellence in research in the biological sciences. Students from all UC Davis undergraduate colleges are eligible for the Baskin Research Award.

  • 2019: Wai Lone Jonathan Ho, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Caroline Liu, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2018Benjamin Mallory, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Bita Shahrvini, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2017: Iris Mollhoff, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2016: Roy Qu, Genetics and Genomics
  • 2015: James Lucas, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2014: Spencer Wong, Genetics
  • 2013: Amanda Steele, Biomedical Engineering (College of Engineering)
  • 2012: Becky Xu Hua Fu, Genetics
  • 2011: Amy Tam, Biological Sciences
  • 2010: Wenhui Zhou, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2009: Alexander Muir Sutherland, Chemistry (College of Letters and Science)
  • 2008: Amanda Kohler, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2007 (inaugural recipient): Edgar Ivan Sanchez, Biomedical Engineering (College of Engineering)

Undergraduate Student of the Year

This award is given to one outstanding graduating senior based on the criteria of academic excellence, research activity and involvement in service to the campus or the community.

  • 2019: Caroline Liu, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior; Tara Shahrvini, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2018: Bita Shahrvini, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2017: Niloufar Mohajerani, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2016: Jenice Cheah, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2015: Briga Mullin, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2014: Duy Tran, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2013: Asadullah Awan, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
  • 2012: Minh Ngo, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2011 (inaugural recipient): Carly Lewis, Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior

*Selections for Outstanding Senior Awards, the College Medal, and the University Medal are considered from the applicant pool for all of the above awards.