10 Elected as AAAS Fellows, 2 from CBS

Person graphic with Siobhan and Mariel

10 Elected as AAAS Fellows, 2 from CBS

Ten faculty from UC Davis are among 502 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the society announced today (April 18). AAAS fellows are scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their achievements in science, including research, teaching, administration and science communication. 

Two faculty from the College of Biological Sciences were included in this year's fellows. Siobhan Brady, a professor in the Department of Plant Biology and the UC Davis Genome Center, and Mariel Vázquez, a professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, and the Department of Mathematics. 

Their fellowship citations are as follows:

This year marks the 150th anniversary of the AAAS Fellows program. A gala celebration to mark the anniversary will be held in Washington, D.C. on Sept. 21, 2024 during the annual Fellows Forum. 

AAAS was founded in 1848 and has become the world’s largest general scientific society. The publisher of Science and other journals, the society’s mission is to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement and more.

See the full list of UC Davis AAAS Fellows here

Primary Category