Awards and Recognition

Professor Nitzan Shabek Receives NSF CAREER Award

February 24, 2021

Nitzan Shabek, an assistant professor in the Department of Plant Biology, has received a $837,000 CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation. The five-year award will support Shabek’s research into elucidating the sensing mechanism of an emerging and unique class of plant hormones. Additionally, as an integral part of the research activities, this project will create a unique teaching platform and outreach program to encourage young students to pursue knowledge in STEM.

UC Davis Genome Center Featured in The New York Times

February 04, 2021

Late in January, the UC Davis Genome center—a keystone part of the collaborative effort between UC Davis and surrounding communities to fight the spread of COVID-19—appeared in a New York Times article that suggested the approach to rapid testing and contact tracing in Davis might be a national model.

CBS Student Receives Prestigious Marshall Scholarship

December 07, 2020

By Sharon Knox

College of Biological Science student, Naomi Murray ’21, who is majoring in evolution, ecology and biodiversity, has just been awarded the prestigious Marshall Scholarship. She will pursue two Master of Science degrees, one in climate change at University College London, the other in science communication at the University of Manchester to help her communicate about climate change.

11 Professors Elected as AAAS Fellows, 4 from CBS

November 25, 2020

Eleven UC Davis professors, including four from the College of Biological Sciences, have been elected in this year’s class of fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, or AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society.

Read about them here.

Genome Center Academic Coordinator Receives Mentoring Award

October 29, 2020

“You can’t be what you can’t see,” said Arpana Vaniya, quoting Sheila Boyington. “This really resonates with me when thinking about mentoring and why I continue to do it.”

Q&A with the newest Allen Distinguished Investigators

October 21, 2020
CBS’ Dan Starr and Gant Luxton awarded $1.5M for research

This October marks the 10th anniversary of the Allen Distinguished Investigator program, which was launched in 2010 by Microsoft cofounder Paul Allen to back creative, early-stage research projects in biology and medical research that would not otherwise be supported by traditional research funding programs.

Alumnus Charles Rice Wins Nobel Prize for Medicine

October 07, 2020

Charles M. Rice, who earned his undergraduate degree from the University of California, Davis, is a recipient of the 2020 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine announced this morning (Oct. 5).

“I’m delighted to see the work of one of our alumni honored with a Nobel Prize,” UC Davis Chancellor Gary S. May said. “On behalf of the entire UC Davis family, I offer my heartfelt congratulations to Professor Rice. His research and dedication inspire us. This is who we are.”